Hello, friend.

I don’t really understand the enmity put in place between Satan and Eve’s children, but I can grasp that “the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit” (Mosiah 3:19)  I think the natural man inclination is to view others with enmity.  I find myself naturally predisposed to feelings of opposition toward others.  The thought came to me yesterday that rather than letting such natural tendencies prevail, that if I were to greet every person I encounter, not verbally, but in my mind, with the phrase, “Hello, friend,” that it would dissipate that otherwise “natural” enmity. I believe that spiritual communication is real (otherwise how are we impacted by the Holy Ghost or Satan’s temptations), and would assume that a “mental” greeting I direct toward others can be perceived by them spiritually. I find as I consider a person and think, “Hello, friend,” even when that person is somebody towards whom I’ve had feelings of conflict in the past, those feelings melt away.  When I envision meeting the Savior I would hope to hear a similar message from Him:  “Hello, friend.

