The standard for His people

What has Jesus sent into the world to guide us back to Him?  His everlasting covenant:

“And even so I have sent mine everlasting covenant into the world, to be a light to the world, and to be a standard for my people, and for the Gentiles to seek to it, and to be a messenger before my face to prepare the way before me.” (D&C 45:9)

The hope of seeing Christ face-to-face, of Him ministering to you personally, and of eventually receiving a promise from Him of eternal life in the celestial kingdom, is supposed to be the ultimate goal and aspiration of every true follower of Christ. That promise from Him is the new and everlasting covenant.

“Wherefore, I now send upon you another Comforter, even upon you my friends, that it may abide in your hearts, even the Holy Spirit of promise; which other Comforter is the same that I promised unto my disciples, as is recorded in the testimony of John. This Comforter is the promise which I give unto you of eternal life, even the glory of the celestial kingdom; Which glory is that of the church of the Firstborn, even of God, the holiest of all, through Jesus Christ his Son” (D&C 88:3-5)

He has promised that He will come if we do what He requires: “I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.” (John 14:18)

When a people collectively downgrades its expectation regarding the necessity of heavenly interaction during mortality, and adopts instead a false religion of materially decreased expectations based on ordinances controlled by man, apostasy sets in and destruction, both spiritual and physical, appears on the horizon.  The true standard, to which the Gentiles specifically are supposed to seek, appears to be the only expectation lofty enough to generate the faith required to overcome the world.

Thus this standard becomes the messenger before the face of “Jesus the mediator of the new covenant.” (D&C 107:19)

 

