Another gift

In addition to the gifts of faith, repentance, charity, and eternal life, there is another gift the Savior promises me that I am having a hard time receiving.  The gift is that He will take care of all my material needs if I seek the kingdom of God first:

 31 Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed?

 32 (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things.

 33 But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

 34 Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof. (Matt 6)

Although the whole rest of the world (i.e. the Gentiles) occupies their days seeking after food, drink, and clothing, we as Christian are supposed to aspire to an entirely different lifestyle.  Once again, two mutually exclusive thought paths are presented to the true believer.  One is of the world, one is of the heavens.  And ne’er the twain shall meet.

Tonight I followed the path of the Gentiles.  I watched Monday night football.  I could have been reading the scriptures (the rest of the family went to the store).  I will try again now.

