To gain eternal life you must know God

“And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” (John 17:3)

What does it mean to know God?  It means you have met Him face-to-face while in the flesh.  Do you think it’s good enough to hope to see Him after this life and have that count?  Everyone will automatically meet Him face-to-face after death (think judgement), and everybody knew Him before coming to this earth, so there’s only one state He could be referring to where knowing Him is optional, and that’s during this mortal probation.

Wait a minute.  Isn’t it good enough to go to Church and attend the temple and do my home teaching and not commit any big sins?  You mean if I haven’t known Him, it doesn’t matter what or how many wonderful works I might have done in His name?  Are you saying that if I haven’t known Him He will command me to depart from Him?

21 ¶Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.

22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?

23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity. (Matthew 7)

This is very disturbing to my comfortable, Babylon-infused, Go-Cougars lifestyle here in our little wilderness Zion.  The Lord must have meant that we have to be near to Him in our hearts to know Him, right?  Kind of like knowing Him in a spiritual sense?  That’s much more doable, and the Lord wants us to be happy, doesn’t He?

“John 14:23—The appearing of the Father and the Son, in that verse, is a personal appearance; and the idea that the Father and the Son dwell in a man’s heart is an old sectarian notion, and is false.” (D&C 130:3)

“Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.” (John 14:23)

Do you mean God really wants to have a real, face-to-face relationship with me while on this earth?  Isn’t that reserved for prophets and apostles?

“God is not a respecter, we all have the same privilege.  Come to God, weary him until he blesses you.  We are entitled to the same blessings, Jesus, revelations, Just Men, Angels, etc…  Obtain that Holy Spirit of promise – then you can be sealed to Eternal life.” (Words of Joseph Smith, p.15)

They want to know you.  Will you give up trying to make something of yourself and allow that to happen?

 1 Verily, thus saith the Lord: It shall come to pass that every soul who forsaketh his sins and cometh unto me, and calleth on my name, and obeyeth my voice, and keepeth my commandments, shall see my face and know that I am; (D&C 93:1)

You know angels, you know the Savior.  He makes you clean.  You know the Father.  Promises are made.  The Holy Spirit of Promise, which is associated with the New and Everlasting Covenant (anything God does is everlasting), seals you His.  That is the only sure path to Eternal Life.  It is the path back.

Leave a Reply

